Forastero de Ohio/Ohio Stranger

Florida Press ASSociation Violates Human And Civil Rights of Alexander Snitker

Posted in Alexander Snitker, Comentario, Florida, Partido Libertario/LP by alvarezgalloso on junio 19, 2010

The US System and members of the US Media were founded on the basis of human rights and freedom. They lecture the world about human rights and freedom and attempt to export their distorted version of freedom and democracy to the world. It is rare that they talk about freedom and democracy while repressing it at home.

This is what happened when Alexander Snitker who is a Candidate of the Libertarian Party for US Senate attempted to participate in a press conference sponsored by the Florida Press ASSociation. The Florida Press ASSociation as well as Press ASSociations within America only allow Republicans and Democrats to speak while others are forced into silence, marginalized, or even publicly humilliated with false accusations.

Is this the freedom and democracy so defended in America?  Either the US System and the Press ASSociations allow other voices such as Alexander Snitker [who is a US Marine who fought for our freedoms] to express themselves or they should remain silent.

If the US System and Press ASSociations such as the Florida Press ASSociation cannot allow multiple voices to speak and cannot keep silent about peace and freedom to the world, they should put their mouths inside their ASS in order to suck up the crap inside their ASS.

 

What would you do in my Situation?

 

 

I would like to explain my actions at the Florida Press Association’s candidate forum on Thursday at the Ritz Carlton in Sarasota.  

 

I was only notified of the event about an hour beforehand by an alert campaign volunteer.  I dropped what I was doing in Tampa and drove to Sarasota. On the way I called Adrian Wyllie, the campaign media director, to let him know what was happening. He also called the Dean Ridings, President of the FPA, to ask why I was not included and to ask for the opportunity to speak. 

 

Adrian informed them we were on the way and my voice will be heard.  We alerted the media to inform them of our presence.  I arrived late and sat down midway through Kendrick Meek’s question and answer session.   Afterword, Marco Rubio addressed the audience.  It was only after Marco Rubio had finished that I stood to speak at a microphone placed in the aisle for guest comments.  I did not interrupt any of the candidates.

 

I said, “I’d like to make a statement. I think denying a person who served eight years in the United States Marine Corps defending your right to have this today…is an atrocity.” I asked for the opportunity to address the group and to answer questions just like the other four candidates, Kendrick Meek, Marco Rubio, Charlie Crist and Jeff Greene.  They denied my request. 

 

Their justification was that only candidates polling above 10% in a credible poll were welcome to speak. I pointed out that Greene had not received 10% in a credible general election poll.  Ridings cited a Quinnipiac poll that showed Green had more than 10%.   However, this was a poll of Democrats only, and was limited to candidates in the Democratic primary for U.S. Senate. If we applied the same rules to the Libertarian party I would have undoubtedly polled above 10%, especially considering I am not facing a primary challenge and I already am the Libertarian nominee.   If Greene has met that criteria of having at least 10% within his own party, then so have I.

 

The bottom line is this:  There is a good possibility that I would be polling ahead of Green in a general election poll right now.  Our internal polling data suggests it.  Since the media has never included me in any of their polls, how could they possibly know whether I am polling above or below 10%?  We can only assume that they made a judgment call to exclude me based on their own preconceived notions and bias.

 

What would you do under these circumstances?

 

It is not obvious I that the media is attempting to determine who the candidates will be?

 

Do you think my actions were justified?

 

It seemed to me that the media would continue to ignore our grassroots campaign.  I could not let that stand.  I have been actively campaigning since June of 2009.  In April of this year, I paid the $10,440 state qualification fee to ensure my name is on this ballot.   It is against everything this country stands for to exclude me.

 

I spoke for less than five minutes and then left without incident.  Many in the press have described my actions using terms like “disruptive,” and described my speech as “frothing at the mouth.”  I did not “storm out” as one reporter put it.   In the hallway, I was greeted by several enthusiastic reporters asking for more information about my campaign. We did what was necessary for the media to recognize us.  We made our point and left.  We were heard.  Let’s hope that they acknowledge that, and that they give a regular citizen a level playing field to compete vs. the career politicians and big money candidates in this race.

 

In Liberty,

Alexander Snitker

Libertarian U.S. Senate candidate, Florida

An Open Letter to the Tea Parties of Florida

 

 

As a proud member of the tea party movement, I am overjoyed by the enormous accomplishments we’ve made. I am humbled by the support so many of you have given me in my run for the U.S. Senate seat in Florida, and I would like to express my sincere thanks.

Our movement was formed over our outrage in the direction the two-party political class was taking our great nation. We stand together to tell the Washington insiders that we will not sit idly by while they ignore and subvert the United States Constitution. We will not sit quietly while they spend our nation into oblivion, and saddle our children and grandchildren with crushing debt. We will not abdicate our personal and financial freedom to them.

The tea party movement is the voice of the people. Just like you, I am one of those voices. I have never sought political office before. Until recently, I had absolutely no desire to do so. I have no political ambitions other than to serve my Country, and help to restore it to our Founders’ original intent.

Like you, I watched in outrage as Republicans and Democrats ignored the Constitution. I felt the anger and sorrow as they spent and spent, while at the same time chipping away at our cherished freedoms. Like so many of you, I called and wrote to my Representative and Senators in a futile attempt to make them hear my voice.

They refused to listen. It was then that I realized that I must take action.

That is why I am running for office. I sincerely believe that it is my duty as an American to do whatever I can to restore our Republic. As a U.S. Marine, I swore a solemn oath to defend the Constitution, and I take that oath very seriously.

Today, some tea party groups are standing in strong support of my competitor for the U.S. Senate seat, Marco Rubio. While Marco says he supports the tea party agenda, his actions are suspect. He is an attorney and career politician who always seems to be just one step ahead of scandal and corruption. He is a man whose words and actions are not always in sync. I fear that he is another politician who will campaign on the virtues of our Founders, but then govern through backroom deals and compromise like a typical politician.

We have seen this pattern many times in the past, and I fear we are doomed to repeat history.

I am asking you to take a stand for Liberty. I am asking you to take a risk on the little guy. I am urging you to support me.

In return, I vow never to compromise my principles. I will work to defeat any legislation that exceeds the Constitutional authority of the federal government. I will oppose any legislation that burdens our future generations with debt. I will fight any legislation that cedes our sovereignty to another nation or global body. I will only vote for judicial appointees who will defend and uphold the Constitution.

Together, we can restore our Republic, and return liberty and prosperity to ourselves and our posterity.

If you are still undecided who you will support in this race, I propose that tea party groups host four U.S. Senate candidate debates. The debates could be located in various regions across the state to give as many people as possible the opportunity to attend. I will gladly appear at every debate, and I challenge Marco Rubio to do the same. Let’s find out once and for all who the tea party candidate really is.

Sincerely,

Alexander Snitker

Libertarian U.S. Senate candidate, Florida

Responder

